Tuesday, October 18, 2011

N.C.'s mayors: Who won, who's still campaigning?

Courtesy of the N.C. Metropolitan Mayors Coalition, here's the skinny on mayoral elections so far this fall in N.C. cities:

Election results are in.  Nancy McFarlane is the new mayor of Raleigh, and Raleigh voters passed bond referendums for transportation and housing.  Cary Mayor Harold Weinbrecht and Monroe Mayor Bobby Kilgore each won re-election.  Durham Mayor Bill Bell and Fayetteville Mayor Tony Chavonne won their primaries.   Incumbent Greensboro Mayor Bill Knight will face off against City Council Member Robbie Perkins next month.
 The following mayors will stand for election on Nov. 8:  Apex Mayor Keith Weatherly, Burlington Mayor Ronnie Wall, Carrboro Mayor Mark Chilton, Chapel Hill Mayor Mark Kleinschmidt, Charlotte Mayor Anthony Foxx, Greenville Mayor Pat Dunn, Huntersville Mayor Jill Swain, Jacksonville Mayor Sammy Phillips, Salisbury Mayor Susan Kluttz and Wilmington Mayor Bill Saffo.  


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.